The Doctors appointment

Suit 2.pngSo we’re in the Doctors surgery, my seven year old son had just been called over the speaker. I knocked the door as I entered (I’m a nice polite person you see).  The Doctor was sitting on his chair.  He was a big guy, unlike me (a small guy), but it looked like he was wearing one of my suits….his jacket sleeves were just past his elbows and his trousers were like shorts.

“Close the door! Are you the Dad?”

“Why, YES!” I answered, thinking that was a strange question!

 

“Hello little boy…..would you like some stickers?” My IMAG2886son looked at me then nodded YES.  I’m sure you’re thinking the same as I was…. Batman, Spiderman, Sponge Bob, Angry Birds……..  But no…. this is what he meant by ‘stickers’.

 

My son looked back at me with the same look as I had on my face, thinking this Doctor cleshocked face2.pngarly needs to order himself a tight fitting straight-jacket and change the magnolia paint on the walls for some padded cushions.

So after composing myself and explaining about my son’s Tonsillitis and that he’d had a bad run of it for over a year when he was much younger, the Doctor, from his short suit pocket, pulled out his mobile phone and switched on his flashlight app (I am now shocked to the core of my bones at what I am seeing!).

 

“Hmmmm….. I can’t see much?”Phone light.png

I thought to myself “DUH!”

There were two pieces of equipment on the wall to the side of me. “Dad, pass the trumpet looking one off the wall to me?”

Not knowing which one he meant, I took a guess. “NO, not that one!  Does that look like a trumpet?”

At this point I decided that whatever respect I had for him had gone right out of the window.  So for legal reasons, and for this story we’ll call him “Muppet”

“Well to be fair ‘Muppet’…. technically….. none of them are actually, a trumpet!” I passed him the right piece of equipment and he then began to take a look into my son’s throat (this time able to see).

He looks at my son “So….I think your Dad wants me to give you Antibiotics…… even though they’re not going to do much.” He turned to his computer, pressing on a few Bus stopbuttons till the prescription came out of the printer.  He turned to my son, “Go to the printer and get the prescription for me.”

Now the printer wasn’t in another country that required a passport, it wasn’t even three bus stops away.

It wasn’t even in another room in the Doctors surgery! It was an inch away from his elbow.  I quickly looked around the room to see, if I was being filmed for a Saturday night entertainment programme.  You know the ones where they put your face in a little square at the bottom right of the TV Screen, as I watch and laugh at myself in the hope that after this, the TV presenter thanks me for being a good sport and sends me on a free holiday courtesy of “You’ve been made to look like a right twit on national television.”

But NO! I wasn’t even in the twilight zone….this, my friends was a real moment in time…he was actually a real life Doctor.  Yep….in a surgery with a proper roof, walls and windows and a reception area with a real receptionist, in a real town with people made of flesh, it has real roads……and the sky was above us…..staying up in the air (not like in Chicken Licken)………. it was all real!

 

As this is the Easy Blend, I thought I’d let you know what I’m listening to. Today it’s Matt Nathanson – Come on get higher

You can find out more about my book ‘Farrago: Ten Tall Tales’ and buy it here…. (click on the cover)

Full cover single

Until the next Easy Blend blog……….. 

Stay warm and fuzzy……..signature

Author: davefrantony

Dave Frantony...... born with the 'quirky' setting stuck on full, lives by his own rules, but even he doesn't know what they are! As an actor, VoiceOver artist and inspirational speaker, I took the obvious step into radio and have been writing and presenting my own show 'Dave Frantony's Easy Blend of Music and Chat' for 6 years. During that time, I've written a book of short stories called Farrago: Ten Tall Tales which will be available on Amazon shortly. I've also just finished my first novel which is now in editing. The 'Easy Blend of Music and Chat' has always been a random collection of stories and observations from my beautiful brown eyes so I thought I'd share some more with you through a Blog.

1 thought on “The Doctors appointment”

  1. My husband, (two heart attacks, diabetic, arthritic knees) visited the orthopaedic consultant. Usual questions:
    Doc: so you’re 49?
    Keith: No, I’m 59
    Doc: do you smoke?
    Keith: I did, I gave up four to five years ago.
    Copy of letter sent to GP from orthopaedic consultant:
    “….this 49 year old man gave up smoking 45 years ago …..”
    Doh!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

